I haven't blogged for a week or so, I've been sick, and THEN I had a teaching job! Which was very exciting!

I thought I'd make Red Velvet Brownies today, because I had some buttermilk in the fridge, and it's a change from cupcakes. I am obsessed with finding the perfect red velvet recipe. Some are better than others...I also had a tub of the Cadbury Philadelphia Cream Cheese in the fridge, so I thought I'd use that instead of the vanilla cream cheese frosting.

I found this recipe amongst my printouts, and I don't know where it came from. So if you recognise it, sorry! Let me know and I'll refer to you...

Ingredients:
1 and 1/4 cups of plain gluten free flour
1 teaspoon of baking powder
2 cups of caster sugar
a pinch of salt
1/2 a cup of melted butter
1/2 a cup of buttermilk
3 eggs, preferably at room temp
1/2 cup of cocoa powder
100g milk chocolate, melted (use a double boiler, or a bowl over a simmering pot)
1 teaspoon of vanilla
1 teaspoon of vinegar
red food colouring gel or liquid (use as much as you want to get your preferred shade of red-I used about a quarter of a teaspoon of gel)

Preheat your oven to 180 degrees.  Spray a non-stick, rectangular baking dish (9 x 13).

In a bowl, combine flour, sugar, salt, baking powder and cocoa. Set aside.
In a mixing bowl, beat together butter, eggs and buttermilk. Add the melted chocolate, vanilla, vinegar and food colouring. Add the dry ingredients and beat until well-combined.

Spread the mixture into your baking dish, and bake for about 30 minutes. Allow to cool before frosting. Again, I used the Cadbury Philadelphia Cream Cheese, but you could use any cream cheese frosting recipe, or you could leave the brownies without frosting (WHAT?).

JH
9/26/2013 09:01:20 pm

I'd like more of these please!

Reply



Leave a Reply.