We love lasagna in my family, and I keep looking for new ways to make it. Here's a recipe that I found on a website called 'Taste-Williams and Sonoma' (http://blog.williams-sonoma.com). It's a white lasagna, which means it uses a white sauce. At first I kind of thought that maybe it might end up bland (it doesn't have a lot of ingredients) but I think it will be quite rich... I didn't have fontina cheese, so I used provolone. I didn't have marsala either, so I used white wine. As usual, I have made this gluten free. On a side note, do you know what bugs me about making a gf lasagna? When you cut it to serve it, it just kind of falls apart into a big mess. Rant over. :)

Apparently, you can make this a day ahead, or even freeze it for up to a month, uncooked, just make sure you wrap it up very well.

Ingredients:
125g unsalted butter
1/2 a cup of plain gf flour
1/2 a teaspoon of nutmeg
4 cups of whole milk
1 cup of chicken stock
1/2 a cup of marsala (or white wine)
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
About 250g of fontina cheese (or I had a whopper 500g piece of provolone)
Sea salt and pepper
Olive oil
1 small leek, or 4 spring onion sprigs, sliced
375g of white mushrooms (I used a mix of white and Swiss Brown)
250g of thin sliced prosciutto (I could only get 200g)
2 tablespoons of chopped fresh basil
12 sheets of gf lasagna
1/2 a cup of parmesan cheese

Method:
Preheat your oven to 180 degrees celcius.

In a large saucepan, melt the butter over a medium-low heat. Stir in the flour and cook, whisking constantly, for about 3 minutes. Add nutmeg, raise the temp to medium high and gradually whisk in milk and stock. Bring the mixture to a boil and continue whisking for about 10 minutes. Remove from heat, and allow to cool slightly, then add 1 cup of shredded provolone cheese, egg and wine, stirring. Season with salt and pepper and set aside.

In another large frypan, heat 2 tablespoons of olive oil over a medium high heat. Add the spring onions and saute until softened slightly. Remove and put in a bowl for later. Add a bit more oil, then add your mushrooms to the pan. Season with salt and pepper. Cook for about 5 minutes, then add prosciutto and basil, plus I added some garlic here too, about a teaspoon of minced garlic. Cook for about a minute or two. Add your spring onion back to the mixture and take off the heat.

Spread about a cup of white sauce onto your lasagna dish base. Spoon a third of the mushroom mix over the top. Place 4 lasagna sheets over the mushroom mix and press down. Then start again. Do this 3 times. Then, add a final layer of just sauce, and top with the remaining provolone and 1/2 a cup of parmesan.

Cover with foil. Bake in the oven for about 45-55 minutes (depends on how well done you like it). Take the foil off for the last 10 minutes, to brown your cheese, if you like.

This serves about 6-8 people. :)






Leave a Reply.