It's my boyfriend's birthday in a few weeks and I'm going to be having a party for him (expect lots of recipes added then!). Because I'm converting recipes from non-gluten free to gluten free, I want to test them out first, because sometimes they can go very, very wrong. I decided to test out this recipe for a birthday cake. As I write this, we have all tasted this cake, and while it was nice (especially the frosting), it was quite dry (maybe because of the gluten free flour, I don't know). But I think it could be tweaked to make it a bit more moist. Here's the recipe....Judge it for yourself. The original recipe is attributed to Rose Levy Birnbaum.

Ingredients:
Cake-
4 egg whites, room temp
1 cup of milk, room temp
2 teaspoons of vanilla
3 cups of sifted, gf flour
1 and a half cups of sugar
1 tablespoon and 1 teaspoon of baking powder
12 tablespoons of butter, room temp
1/4 teaspoon of salt

Frosting-
2 cups of light brown sugar
250g butter
1/3 cup milk
2 tablespoons of maple syrup
1/4 teaspoon of salt
1 teaspoon of vanilla
3 cups of icing sugar

Method:
Cake-
In a mixer, combine all dry ingredients and mix for about 30 seconds with a mixer. Add butter and mix until the batter is crumbly. Stir in 1/4 cup of the milk and beat on medium high for 30 seconds.

In a separate bowl, mix egg whites, remaining milk and vanilla. Slowly add to the dry mixture, scraping down the sides of the bowl and beating for about a minute, until combined. Pour into 2 medium sized cake tins (greased and lined), smooth the tops of the cakes and bake for 35 minutes at 180 degrees. Allow to cool in the pan for 10 minutes, before turning onto a cooling rack. You may slice each cake in two at this stage, to get four layers, but I didn't think I could do this with a gluten free cake (it would crumble).

Icing-
Bring brown sugar, butter, milk, maple syrup and salt to a simmer, until the sugar is not grainy. Do not boil.

Remove from heat and add vanilla, stirring constantly. Allow to cool slightly and whisk in icing sugar. Add icing to the centre of one of your cakes and spread it out, place another cake on top, and frost entire cake. This icing thickens and sets while you're doing this, so you may have to be quick.

I don't think I'll be making this as a birthday cake-so back to the drawing board! :)

Gloria Bagwell Rowland
1/14/2014 10:11:36 am

Reply



Leave a Reply.